is this art? hipstamatic photography?

8 01 2011

I really enjoy photography.  I’m not sure that I’m actually any good at it, but I do enjoy it.

I used to shoot on a Canon EOS500, then a Kodak LS633, then a Canon IXUS60 and now have a Canon 1000D.  I don’t mind admitting that I don’t know how to use photoshop, so when I want to get creative I use my (all manual plastic) Holga and for more immediate artistic gratification, Hipstamatic on my iPhone.

Holgas and Hipstamatic are great, because you’re never quite sure of what the output is going to be.

My question is this… are photos taken with Hipstamatic art?  Do Hipstamatic proofs have any place in a gallery?

Comments are now open!

Actions

Information

8 responses

8 01 2011
charles

Comments are on now!

8 01 2011
sam @ bento

Art is in the eye of the observer, non?

8 01 2011
charles

Absolutely! I even wrote a post on it not too long ago! http://100thgallery.com/2010/12/04/you-are-good-enough/

8 01 2011
chian

Hooray for comments!

11 01 2011
anonymous

Interesting post, I’ve just bought hipstamatic myself – it definitely has some great filters and you get some really nice results from the post processing (aka ‘developing’). But is it art? I’m not really sure. It’s the same as photoshop really; how much do you have to edit/change a photograph before it turns into something it isn’t? Photography is supposed to be raw, candid and evoke feeling. It’s supposed to be about being at the right place with impeccable timing. If this app can make it so easy for anyone to take a ‘good’ photo then the true passion behind photography is almost lost. Sad, huh?

11 01 2011
charles

You make some very good points!

25 01 2011
Petter

Wouldn’t that be the other way around? Making the being of art more open to the public and less institutionalized by allowing the ‘artist’ in question to focus on the creativity of composition and making of art rather than being caught up in the technicality of craftmanship.

25 01 2011
charles

Another very valid point!

Leave a Reply

